On Running For Congress – A Possible Path

Aloha,

I can no longer merely watch from the sidelines as the “politics as usual” in Washington threatens the very fabric of our lives and the security of our democracy slips further and further every day.

As the financial debacle unfolds now in Washington and through-out the world, it is clear that Social Security, Medicare, education and the environment will soon be thrown beneath the bus under the guise of “fiscal responsibility”. Yes, we need to get our nation’s fiscal house in order, but that effort must be a balanced approach and include an end to the Bush tax cuts for the top 5%, a dramatic reduction in corporate entitlements, and an end to the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.

There is hope, of course. With leadership that honors the people and an unflagging commitment based on core values and old-fashioned hard work, we can create the positive future our children deserve.

If you know me, you know that I will speak truth to power and fight hard for the values we share.  You also know that I understand the importance of being effective and that I know how to get things done.

My role today as the Director of the Office of Environmental Quality Control is meaningful, challenging and we have made great strides forward on many levels. The Governor’s New Day in Hawaii agenda is a good one that I wholeheartedly support. At the end of the day however, I know in my heart that at some point, serving in public office is where I need to be. While the timing may be uncertain, my commitment is not.

The 2nd Congressional District in the United States Congress is a path many have encouraged me to explore and one which I am seriously considering. I live in the District, have established networks on all islands and understand the unique challenges faced by rural communities.

The first absentee votes in the 2012 primary election will be cast just 12 short months from now.

I am committed to re-entering the political process and helping to lead our community forward.But to do so, I must have your help and your financial support.Whether it’s $25, $50, $100 or more – To begin anew down the path toward elective office, I must have your help today.Our campaign must raise $12,500 this month for existing obligations and an additional $25,000 to fund other expenses necessary to maintain an ongoing strong and credible campaign presence.

My final decision and future path depends in large part on your response to this letter.If you want me to run for public office and serve you again in that capacity, I need to know.

Mahalo again for all of your past help and support.In order for me to plan effectively for the future, contributions received prior to August 30 are especially important.I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Gary Hooser

808-652-4279 GaryLHooser@hotmail.com

Contributions to: Friends of Gary Hooser, P.O. Box 4094, Honolulu HI 96812

http://www.garyhooser.com Website is “in transition” but please visit and watch “The Hooser Story” and other video that will give you a better idea of who I am and what values I hold dear.

About garyhooser

This blog represents my thoughts as an individual person and does not represent the official position of any organization I may be affiliated with. I presently serve as volunteer President of the Hawaii Alliance for Progressive Action (H.A.P.A.) www.hapahi.org I am the former Vice-Chair of the Democratic Party of Hawaii. In another past life, I was an elected member of the Kauai County Council, a Hawaii State Senator, and Majority Leader, and the Director of Environmental Quality Control for the State of Hawaii - in an even earlier incarnation I was an entrepreneur and small business owner. Yes, I am one of the luckiest guys on the planet. Please visit my website AND sign up for my newsletter (unlike any email newsletter you have ever gotten, of that I am sure) - http://www.garyhooser.com/#four “Come to the edge.” “We can’t. We’re afraid.” “Come to the edge.” “We can’t. We will fall!” “Come to the edge.” And they came. And he pushed them. And they flew. - Christopher Logue (b.1926)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On Running For Congress – A Possible Path

  1. You belong in public office, Gary. Unfortunately crazy, extreme rhetoric seems to carry the day with too many voters. I hope the silent majority who have tuned out the nastiness will tune in again to make a difference. They need to, in order to help get saner voices and people who are truly driven by a desire to serve into positions where they can help “accompany, advocate and serve.” That phrase is how the Jesuit Refugee Service describes its wonderful work but it resonated with me as a net statement for what public officials, not just people of the cloth, are called to do. Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Political Radar - Hawaii News - Staradvertiser.com

  3. elaine says:

    Absolutely run. What has the leadership in Hawaii done for Hawaii and the Hawaiians?
    I know you understand and are close to the things that matter in Hawaii and you are not so far removed/out of touch compared to what we currently have in office. We need someone that is thinking on the higher level, which is that of preservation of the islands and all that they came from and stand for. The ones holding seats growing mold now, have no interest in that higher level which also entails a strong degree of loyalty to Hawaii history.
    Abercrombie seems to have a resentment and disdain for Native Hawaiians and I am glad he is out of Congress; nevertheless he is still in a position to re-steal the little bit Native Hawaiians have left. And he is attempting to do doing just that.
    None of them got it yet: the magic formula is HERE. The rest of the worldʻs destiny hinges on what happens HERE.
    Integrity is what is needed so badly. If you can maintain your loyalties and integrity in spite of the treacherous extortionist game playing in Washington, then go for it. Washington needs some class. It is not an honorable scene, inundated with mediocrity, criminality and uneducated, self seeking charlatans. Hawaii alone has a good share of them.
    Perhaps you have a loyalty to this governor who truly does not deserve the seat he is in now, but nevertheless he will self implode eventually and it would be a good idea not to let any of that follow you to Washington.
    You know me, I speak my mind because there isnʻt time or reason not to do so.
    I will support you, vote for you, and write kind things about you but as far as monetary donations..any that I am able to make in this land of government looting….will go to the Lawful Reinstatement process of the Perfect Right of Kanaka Maoli and their reinstated government.
    Much luck to you, Gary, and you do have a lot of noble people standing behind you; not too many politicians can claim that.
    aloha,
    elaine

  4. Ritxard el Vasco de Hawaii nei says:

    Gary, you have asked for contributions to a campaign that is not yet operating, and yet you provide no envelope or web-based system for contributing. You have shown yourself the best leader I have seen in my 25+ yrs in Hawaii nei. I hope you can be elected to the high position of 2nd Congressional District Congressman. Please tell us how we can contribute to your cause.

    • garyhooser says:

      Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding my leadership ability. I hope to take the ability I have and put it to the best use possible. Yes…no envelope, no electronic link and a campaign that is not operating yet. As described in the main message the funds are needed to start up the campaign and begin moving forward. We need to rebuild our website among other things and I greatly appreciate your understanding and apologize for any inconvenience…but for now all contributions will need to be sent the ole fashion way…snail mail. Checks should be made out to FRIENDS OF GARY HOOSER and mailed to P.O. Box 4094, Honolulu Hawaii 96812. Mahalo again for your help and support.

  5. Maire Raven says:

    I have never been so discouraged over the state of our government on all levels as I have been of late. It would be so good to have SOMEONE in office who is trustworthy and a real voice for actual people- not a corporate-owned talking head. Run for office, Gary- we are behind you in whatever way we can be, let us know- we will do what we can!

  6. Richard and Judith says:

    A neighbor island resident to represent the neighbor islands. How unique!

    We’re with you, Gary!

  7. Aloha Gary,
    I cannot begin to tell you how thankful and overjoyed I am to know you are taking the responsibility to help lead and insure the trights of the people of Hawaii Bpb and I are completely committed to your campaign. Tell us what you need and we will get it done!
    Mahalo to you & all your family.

    Nita & Bob

  8. Allen says:

    Good reading this posst

Leave a comment